Tuesdays with Dorie/Baking with Julia’s recipe this week is a cranberry (walnut) pumpkin loaf.  Our host this week is Rebecca at This Bountiful Backyard.  You can find the recipe on her site as well as some nice photos of the finished product.

I didn’t add walnuts to mine, I have two family members who don’t like nuts and I need help eating all these carbs!  The bread didn’t seem to suffer from the lack of walnuts.  This is not a quick bread, like the pumpkin loaf you’d expect.  It is more like raisin bread with a hint of pumpkin, nutmeg and cinnamon.  I used dried sweetened cranberries and golden raisins in my bread.  It has to settle in the fridge overnight, so plan ahead.  I made 2 loaves instead of the three small loaves.

I’ve now started marking the recipes in my Baking with Julia book with the date made and whether or not to make again.  I have a Joy of Cooking from my great great Aunt with all sorts of comments that I love to read.  It brings back good memories of her.  Will I make this again?  Maybe, but probably not.  I’d rather make the Whole Wheat Loaves from last month.

Stay tuned for Bagels on October 16th.

Links to the recipe and other bakers work can be found here:

