This was a challenging recipe for my first TWD post.  The rugelach used a cream cheese dough and apricot or prune filling.  I’ve had rugelach before, so I had an idea of how they should turn out.  I split the dough in half and made one half apricot with dates and nuts and the other half was chocolate and nuts.  The finished rugelach didn’t photograph well- probably due to the cinnamon sugar crust.  Members of my family thought the picture looked like oysters Rockefeller or mini hamburgers.

Rugelach

Rugelach

I would make these again, but only with chocolate and nuts.  They rolled better and held together during baking.  I would also omit rolling them in cinnamon sugar and just sprinkle them with a little sugar.

Some other tips- don’t put filling all the way to the edges.  The roll will stay together better and cut easier into the pieces.  Also, I didn’t trim the dough until after I had rolled it up with filling and then I just cut off the uneven ends.

I love the idea of baking on parchment paper.  It allows the sugar to crystallize without burning on the baking sheet.

The next baking project will be Irish Soda Bread.  I’ve made it before with a different recipe and it is fairly straightforward.

Links to the recipe and other bakers work can be found here:

