Hungarian Shortbread

For the recipe, visit our hosts for this week, Lynette of 1smallkitchen and Cher of The not so exciting adventures of a dabbler…

This recipe was easy to make – combine the shortbread ingredients in the mixer, form into two large balls, freeze and then grate into the baking dish for a bottom layer, add a layer of jam and then grate the second ball for the final top layer.  The hardest part was the grating and only because it was tiring!  I had to press my son into service to help with the project.

ready for the oven (sort of looks like grated cheese)

finished baking, crispy and browned on top

I followed the advice of baking the bottom first for 15 minutes, then adding the jam and top layer and baking for an additional 40 minutes.  Rhubarb isn’t available in the northeast yet, so I used strawberry/rhubarb jam from the store.  You’ll notice I didn’t add the confectioners sugar on top. I actually forgot and then decided it was fine without.  My husband loved it, but my children didn’t.  My children don’t like shortbread in general- too buttery I think for children’s tastes.  I thought it was quite tasty.  I froze 3/4 of the batch for another time.  I think it should be fine for a few weeks in the freezer.

finished shortbread so delicious!

Stay tuned for May 15 – Pecan Sticky Buns

Links to the recipe and other bakers work can be found here:

