French Strawberry Cake

Our hosts for this recipe are Sophia of Sophia’s Sweets and Allison of Sleep Love Think Dine.  Check out their blogs for beautiful photos and copies of the recipe.

I have to admit that I actually made this cake in April for my son’s 10th birthday.  I meant to make it again this past weekend, but end of school and Father’s Day disrupted my best laid plans.

This cake is a great birthday cake.  My favorite bakery makes a Strawberry Shortcake cake and I have always ordered one for my birthday.  When I saw this recipe in Baking with Julia, I knew that I could make it myself from now on.  I’m not sure why the cake was named French Strawberry Cake – it reminds me very much of a strawberry shortcake.  Savory cake, sweet strawberries and cream.

My cake had only two layers since I did not know the secret of freezing the cake for easier slicing.  The cake is rather heavy and not overly sweet.  It works well with the strawberries and cream since it readily holds its layers.  Next time, I will fold the genoise less so that it is lighter, but overall I was pleased with the result.

Bon Anniversaire!

Stay tuned for future baking:

July 3, 2012- Hazelnut Biscotti

July 17, 2012- Semolina Bread

July 31, 2012- Blueberry Nectarine Pie

Links to the recipe and other bakers work can be found here:

